## PREVENTION OF YELLOW FEVER IMPORTATION INTO SOUTH AFRICA

ellow fever is an infectious vector-borne disease that is caused by a virus transmitted by the bite of an infected mosquito vector such as Aëdes aegypti. South Africa has a risk of introduction of the disease as the mosquito vector exists in the country.

In order to prevent introduction of the disease into the country, South Africa requires a valid yellow fever certificate from all citizens and non-citizens over one year of age travelling from an infected area or having been in transit through infected areas (see list of infected countries below). This is in line with the International Health Regulations (IHR, 2005). The IHR allow countries at risk to employ the following measures:

**I.I** To obtain vaccination certificates from individuals travelling from areas determined by the WHO to be infected by yellow fever. South Africa will exercise the following for all travellers from high risk countries who are unable to produce a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate at the port of entry:

- refused entry; or
- quarantined until their certificate becomes valid, or for a period of not more than six days; or
- those with an exemption certificate due to medical reasons may be allowed entry and required to report any fever or other symptoms to the health authorities and be placed under surveillance.

NB: Definition of a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate - vaccination should be approved by the World Health Organisation (WHO), and administered at least 10 days before departure to South Africa at the Yellow fever-approved vaccination centres as the vaccine offers protection 10 days after administration. If vaccination is administered less than 10 days before departure, the abovementioned measures should be applied.

**1.2** Disinsection of aircraft, ships, tyre casing consignments and other modes of transportation coming from infected areas

## List of countries for which a yellow fever vaccination certificate is required for entry into South Africa. These have been determined by the WHO to be high risk countries for yellow fever.

Angola Argentina Benin Bolivia Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi Cameroon Central African Republic Chad Colombia Guinea-Bissau Congo Côte d'Ivoire Democratic Republic of the Congo Ecuador Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia French Guyana Gabon Gambia Ghana Guinea Guyana

- Kenya Liberia Mali Mauritania Niger Nigeria Panama Paraguay Peru Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe
- Senegal Sierra Leone Somalia Sudan Suriname Togo Trinidad and Tobago Uganda United Republic of Tanzania Venezuela



## health

Department: Health **REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA**